Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

2015

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
 
  End of League Year - Time to Renew Membership.
Saturday, July 4, 2015
All Day
USA Independence Day.
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
All Day
Holiday Inn
152 Fairfway Lane
Staunton, VA 22401
LWV-VA Board Retreat.
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
74th House of Delegates District 74th House of Delegates Special Election. The 74th District covers parts of Richmond, Henrico and all of Charles City County.
Saturday, August 1, 2015
9:30 am - 3:30 pm
NRECA Building
4301 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22203
LWVNCA Sponsored MLD Workshop. Learn about recruiting strategies, about creating active members and about encouraging new leadership in our Leagues. The workshop is open to any League member interested in membership issues as well as state coaches and others whose portfolios include membership. Two staffers from LWVUS have kindly offered to give us the training workshop and we look forward to learning and sharing.
Friday, August 14, 2015
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
All Day
USA Women's Equality Day. 19th Amendment to the US Constitution ratified to give women the vote.
Friday, September 4, 2015
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Monday, September 7, 2015
All Day
USA Labor Day.
Thursday, September 10, 2015
TBD
TBD LWV-VA Forum on Medicaid Expansion. Medicaid Expansion, hosted by the League of Women Voters (Arlington), co-sponsored by the Northern VA chapter of the Virginian Interfaith Center, details to arrive soon
Friday, September 11, 2015
All Day
USA Patriot's Day.
Monday, September 14, 2015
 
  Rosh Hashannah.
Thursday, September 17, 2015
All Day
USA Constitution Day.
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Sundown
  Yom Kippur begins at Sundown.
Friday, October 9, 2015
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room LWVNCA Board Meeting & President's Lunch.
Monday, October 12, 2015
All Day
USA Columbus Day.
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
5:00 pm
Virginia Last Day to Register for Virginia General Election.
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
 
Virginia Last Day to Apply for Absentee Ballot for General Election.
Sunday, November 1, 2015
2:00 am
USA Daylight Savings Time Ends.
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
6 am - 7 pm
All over Virginia General Election - Check Department of Elections. On the Ballot:

Virginia Senate (40) (4-year term)

House of Delegates (100) (2-year term)

Soil and Water Directors (4-year term)

Counties:

8-year term:

  • Clerk of Court

4-year terms:
  • Commonwealth's Attorney
  • Sheriff
  • Commissioner of Revenue
  • Treasurer
  • Boards of Supervisors (95 counties)

School Boards (88 counties)

City Council (4 cities)
(terms vary - set by Charter)

City School Board (4 cities)
(terms vary - set by Charter)

Town Council (11 Towns)
(terms vary + set by Charter

Friday, November 6, 2015
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
All Day
USA Veteran's Day.
Saturday, November 21, 2015
 
General Assembly
Richmond, VA
Prefiling of legislative bills begins.
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
TBD
Capitol Square, Richmond, VA LWV-VA Baord Meeting.
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
 
Richmond, VA Women's Roundtable Pre-session Luncheon.
Friday, December 4, 2015
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Sunday, December 6, 2015
 
  Hanukkah begins at Sundown.
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
All Day
USA Bill of Rights Day.
Monday, December 21, 2015
 
USA Winter Begins.
Friday, December 25, 2015
All Day
USA Christmas Day.
Saturday, December 26, 2015
 
  Kwanzaa Begins.
Friday, January 1, 2016
All Day
  New Year's Day.
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
 
Virginia Last Day to Register to Vote in Presidential Primary.
Sunday, February 14, 2016
All Day
  Valentine's Day.
Sunday, February 14, 2016
All Day
  LWVUS Founding Anniversary in 1920.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
6:oo am - 7:00 pm
Virginia Presidential Primary Election.
Sunday, June 19, 2016
All Day
  Father's Day.