Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

2016-17

Date & Time        Place        Description
Thursday, September 1, 2016-Friday, September 30, 2016
All Day
Virginia Voter Registration Month.
Sunday, September 18, 2016
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Falls Church Community Center
223 Little Falls Street
Falls Church, VA 22046
LWVFC: "Right to Work Laws vs. Encouraging Collective Bargaining" Forum. Forum to discuss right to work. Click Here for details.

Featured speakers:

Stanley Greer, Senior Research Associate, National Institute for Labor Relations Research; Editor, National Right to Work Committee Newsletter Daniel Duncan, Executive Secretary-Treasurer, Maritime Trades Department, AFL-CIO.

Monday, September 19, 2016
7:00-8:00 pm
On Fairfax Public Access station 8th Congressional District Forum.
Sunday, September 25, 2016-Saturday, October 1, 2016
 
Northern Virginia Northern VA Voter Registration Week.
Monday, September 26, 2016
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Hofstra University
Mack Arena
1000 Fulton Avenue
Hempstead, NY 11549
1st Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates. Click Here for debate information from the University.

The first debate will be divided into six time segments of approximately 15 minutes each on major topics to be selected by the moderator and announced at least one week before the debate. The moderator will open each segment with a question, after which each candidate will have two minutes to respond. Candidates will then have an opportunity to respond to each other. The moderator will use the balance of the time in the segment for a deeper discussion of the topic.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
 
USA National Voter Registration Day.
Saturday, October 1, 2016-Monday, October 31, 2016
 
USA Voter Education Month.
Sunday, October 2, 2016-Tuesday, October 4, 2016
 
  Rosh Hashanah. starts at sundown 10/2.
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Longwood University
Willett Hall
201 High Street
Farmville, VA 23909
Vice Presidential Televised Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates. Click Here for Longwood University Debate updates.

The Vice Presidential debate will be divided into nine time segments of approximately 10 minutes each. The moderator will ask an opening question, after which each candidate will have two minutes to respond. The moderator will use the balance of the time in the segment for a deeper discussion of the topic.

Sunday, October 9, 2016
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Washington University
1 Brookings Drive
Saint Louis, MO 63130
2nd Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates. Click Here for debate updates.

The second presidential debate will take the form of a town meeting, in which half of the questions will be posed directly by citizen participants and the other half will be posed by the moderator based on topics of broad public interest as reflected in social media and other sources. The candidates will have two minutes to respond and there will be an additional minute for the moderator to facilitate further discussion. The town meeting participants will be uncommitted voters selected by the Gallup Organization.

Monday, October 10, 2016
 
USA Columbus Day.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016-Wednesday, October 12, 2016
 
  Yom Kippur begins at Sundown 10/11.
Friday, October 14, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room, 10th floor
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting & President's Lunch.
Monday, October 17, 2016
 
Virginia Deadline to be registered to vote in the November 8 election.
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
9:00 - 10:30 pm
University of Nevada
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
3rd Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates. Click Here for more information.

The third debate (like the first one) will be divided into six time segments of approximately 15 minutes each on major topics to be selected by the moderator and announced at least one week before the debate. The moderator will open each segment with a question, after which each candidate will have two minutes to respond. Candidates will then have an opportunity to respond to each other. The moderator will use the balance of the time in the segment for a deeper discussion of the topic.

Monday, October 24, 2016
 
  United Nations Day.
Sunday, October 30, 2016
 
  Diwali Festival of Light.
Monday, October 31, 2016
 
USA Halloween.
Friday, November 4, 2016
10:30 am
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting CANCELLED.
Saturday, November 5, 2016
 
VIRGINIA Final Day in Person Absentee Voting.
Sunday, November 6, 2016
 
USA Daylight SavingsTime Ends.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
USA ELECTION DAY - GO VOTE!.
Friday, November 11, 2016
 
USA Veteran's Day.
Thursday, November 24, 2016
 
USA Thanksgiving Day.
Friday, December 2, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room, 10th floor
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
 
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
 
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable Presession luncheon & discussion.
Thursday, December 15, 2016
 
USA Bill of Rights Day.
Monday, December 19, 2016
 
Virginia Capitol Building Electoral College Votes are Cast. The meeting of the electors takes place on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December after the presidential election. The electors meet in their respective states, where they cast their votes for President and Vice President on separate ballots.
Saturday, December 24, 2016-Sunday, January 1, 2017
 
  Hanukkah Begins (ends 1/1/17).
Sunday, December 25, 2016
 
  Christmas Day.
Monday, December 26, 2016
 
  Kwanzaa begins.
Saturday, December 31, 2016
 
  New Year's Eve!.
Sunday, January 1, 2017
 
  Happy New Year!.
Friday, January 6, 2017
 
US Capitol Electoral College Votes are Counted.
Friday, January 6, 2017
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room, 10th floor
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
 
Richmond, VA Virginia General Assembly Convenes.
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
 
Richmond, VA Virginia General Assembly Convenes. (Short Session in odd number years)
Monday, January 16, 2017
All Day
  Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable session.
Friday, January 20, 2017
Noon
US Capitol
Washington, DC
Presidential Inaguration. New President takes the Oath of Office
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable session.
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
 
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
 
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Lobby Day at the General Assembly.
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable.
Friday, February 3, 2017
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room, 10th floor
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable.
Friday, February 10, 2017
 
TBD LWVNCA Reception in honor of LWVUS Board.
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
 
USA League of Women Voters founding 97th anniversary.
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
 
USA Valentine's Day.
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable session.
Monday, February 20, 2017
All Day
USA President's Day.
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
8:30 am
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Women's Roundtable session.
Monday, February 27, 2017
 
Richmond, VA General Assembly Session Sine Die.
Friday, March 3, 2017
10:30 am
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Sunday, March 12, 2017
 
USA Daylight Savings Time Begins.
Sunday, March 12, 2017-Saturday, March 18, 2017
 
USA Sunshine Week (Open Government).
Thursday, April 6, 2017
 
TBA LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Friday, April 7, 2017
10:30 am
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Monday, April 10, 2017-Tuesday, April 18, 2017
 
  Passover.
Sunday, April 16, 2017
 
  Easter.
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
 
USA TAX DAY. IRS taxes due 4/18 as 4/15 is a Saturday.
Saturday, April 22, 2017
 
USA Earth Day.
Sunday, April 23, 2017
 
Virginia VA High School Week Registration.
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Vienna, Virginia Cities and Towns Election.
Friday, May 5, 2017
 
  Cinco de Mayo.
Saturday, May 6, 2017
 
Clyde's of Gallery Place
707 7th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
LWVNCA Annual Convention.
Saturday, May 6, 2017
10:30 am
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Sunday, May 14, 2017
All Day
USA Mother's Day.
Monday, May 22, 2017
 
  Deadline to be registered to vote in the June 13 Primary.
Saturday, May 27, 2017-Sunday, June 25, 2017
 
  Ramadan.
Thursday, June 1, 2017
 
TBD LWVUS Council Meeting.
Friday, June 2, 2017
10:30 am
1730 M Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Friday, June 9, 2017
 
TBD LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Saturday, June 10, 2017-Sunday, June 11, 2017
 
TBD LWV-VA Convention.
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Virginia Primary if held: June 13.
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
 
USA Flag Day.
Sunday, June 18, 2017
All Day
USA Father's Day.
Monday, June 26, 2017
 
  Eid al-Fitr.
Saturday, July 1, 2017
 
Virginia LWV-VA Fiscal Year Begins.