Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

2016

Date & Time        Place        Description
Monday, February 8, 2016
 
Virginia Last Day to Register to Vote in Presidential Primary. Last day on which a person may apply for voter registration for the VA presidential primary. All registration books close on this day.
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
 
General Assembly Building
Room 4 East
Richmond, VA
LWV-VA Sponsored Women's Roundtable.
Sunday, February 14, 2016
All Day
  Valentine's Day.
Sunday, February 14, 2016
All Day
  LWVUS Founding Anniversary in 1920.
Monday, February 15, 2016
All Day
USA President's Day.
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
 
  LWVWA Great Decisions Program: The Rise of Isis. Born out of an umbrella organization of Al Qaeda in Iraq, the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) burst onto the international stage after it seized Falluja in December 2013. Since then, the group has seized control of a number of critical strongholds in the country and declared itself a caliphate, known as the Islamic State. Still, the question remains: What is ISIS, and what danger does it pose to U.S. interests?
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
11:00 - 12:00 pm
Virginia's Capitol Steps
at Capitol Square Square
1000 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219


Rally followed by a lunch at noon at
The Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Centennial Rally for Equal Rights. Vigil & Gathering at Capitol Square Bell Tower Marking 100 years of our foremothers rally to demand suffrage now we demand equal rights.

Lunch to follow at noon at the Library of Virginia. For lunch reservations (required) go to http://www.vanow.org/

Wednesday, February 17, 2016
8:30 am
General Assembly Building
Room 4 East
Richmond, VA
LWV-VA Sponsored Women's Roundtable.
Sunday, February 21, 2016
3:30-5:00 pm
Community Center
223 Little Falls Street
Falls Church, VA 22046
LWVFC Forum Real Estate Development 101.
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
 
Virginia Absentee Ballot by Mail Deadline. Deadline for receipt of absentee ballot application sent by mail, fax or e-mail to be received by the general registrar of the voter's county or city of residence.
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
8:30 am
General Assembly Building
Room 4 East
Richmond, VA
LWV-VA Sponsored Women's Roundtable.
Thursday, February 25, 2016
7:30 pm
Christopher Newport University
Ferguson Center for the Arts
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606
LWVUS Concert "Use Your Voice"... With Patty Griffin, Sara Watkins and Anais Mitchell

SINGER/SONGWRITERS UNITE WITH THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF THE UNITED STATES FOR MAJOR U.S. TOUR AND VOTER ENGAGEMENT DRIVE

Tour Schedule and Ticket Info

Saturday, February 27, 2016
9:30 am
Tyson's Clyde's Restaurant
8332 Leesburg Pike
Vienna, VA
LWVFA General Meeting - date change from 1/23/16. Guest Speaker: LWVUS Executive Director Dr. Wylecia Wiggs Harris

RSVP required for lunch.

Saturday, February 27, 2016
5:00 pm deadline
Virginia Deadline for absentee ballot by appearing in-person.
Saturday, February 27, 2016
7:30 pm
Camp Concert Hall
University of Richmond
Modlin Center for the Arts
28 Westhampton Way
Richmond, VA 23173
LWVUS Concert "Use Your Voice". .. With Patty Griffin, Sara Watkins and Anais Mitchell Click Here for tickets.

SINGER/SONGWRITERS UNITE WITH THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF THE UNITED STATES FOR MAJOR U.S. TOUR AND VOTER ENGAGEMENT DRIVE.

Tour Schedule and Ticket Info

Sunday, February 28, 2016
7:30 pm
Jefferson Center Foundation
Shaftman Performance Hall
541 Luck Avenue, Suite 221
ROANOKE, VA 24016
LWVUS Concert "Use Your Voice". With Patty Griffin, Sara Watkins and Anais Mitchell Click Here for tickets.

SINGER/SONGWRITERS UNITE WITH THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF THE UNITED STATES FOR MAJOR U.S. TOUR AND VOTER ENGAGEMENT DRIVE Tour Schedule and Ticket Info

Tuesday, March 1, 2016
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Virginia Presidential Primary Election.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
8:00 pm
MUSIC CENTER AT STRATHMORE
5301 Tuckerman Lane
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
LWVUS Concert "Use Your Voice".. With Patty Griffin, Sara Watkins and Anais Mitchell Click Here for tickets.

SINGER/SONGWRITERS UNITE WITH THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF THE UNITED STATES FOR MAJOR U.S. TOUR AND VOTER ENGAGEMENT DRIVE

Wednesday, March 2, 2016
8:30 am
General Assembly Building
Room 4 East
Richmond, VA
LWV-VA Sponsored Women's Roundtable.
Friday, March 4, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room Suite 1000
1730 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Sunday, March 13, 2016-Saturday, March 19, 2016
 
USA Sunshine Week Open Government.
Sunday, March 27, 2016
 
  Easter.
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
TBD
TBD LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Friday, April 8, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room Suite 1000
1730 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Friday, April 22, 2016
All Day
USA Earth Day.
Saturday, April 23, 2016
9:00 am-1:00 pm
Waterford
12025 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
LWVFA Annual Meeting.
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
 
Virginia Cities & Towns Election.
Friday, May 6, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room Suite 1000
1730 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Saturday, May 7, 2016
 
Clyde's Restaurant Gallery Place
707 Seventh Street
Washington, DC 20001
LWVNCA Annual Convention.
Sunday, May 8, 2016
All Day
USA Mother's Day.
Monday, May 30, 2016
 
USA Memorial Day.
Friday, June 3, 2016
TBD
  LWV-VA Board Meeting.
Friday, June 3, 2016
10:30 am
LWVUS Board Room Suite 1000
1730 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
LWVNCA Board Meeting.
Saturday, June 4, 2016
 
Richmond, VA LWV-VA Council Meeting.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
 
Virginia VA Primary Election for Congressional Candidates.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
 
USA Flag Day.
Thursday, June 16, 2016-Sunday, June 19, 2016
 
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
2660 Woodley Road, NW
Washington, DC 20008
LWVUS National Convention.
Friday, June 17, 2016
7:00 pm
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
2660 Woodley Road, NW
Washington, DC 20008
LWVNCA Fundraiser - Capitol Steps Comedy Performance.
Sunday, June 19, 2016
All Day
  Father's Day.
Monday, September 26, 2016
 
Wright State University
Dayton, OH
1st Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates.
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
 
Longwood University
Willett Hall
Farmville, VA
Vice Presidential Televised Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates.
Sunday, October 9, 2016
 
Washington University
St. Louis, MO
2nd Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates.
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
 
University of Nevada
Las Vegas, NV
3rd Presidential Debate. Televised Debate sponsored by the Commission on Presidential Debates.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
 
USA ELECTION DAY - GO VOTE!.